Skip to main content


Figure 1 | Journal of Intensive Care

Figure 1

From: Classifying types of disseminated intravascular coagulation: clinical and animal models

Figure 1

Classification of DIC types. Coagulation activation (TAT elevation) is a common feature, but the degree of fibrinolytic activation (PIC elevation) differs depending on the underlying disease. The ‘symptoms’ area in the figure distinguishes organ symptoms and bleeding symptoms. Fibrin degradation product (FDP) is not shown in this figure, but in enhanced fibrinolytic DIC, FDP tends to be elevated more than D-dimer. Because ATRA therapy in APL inhibits annexin II expression in APL cells, the characteristics of enhanced fibrinolytic DIC are lost, with a change to the characteristics of suppressed fibrinolytic DIC. TAT thrombin-antithrombin complex, PIC plasmin-α2 plasmin complex, DD D-dimer, PAI plasminogen activator inhibitor, APL acute promyelocytic leukemia.

Back to article page